news &

DBE “TOP REGION” Team Tournament

DBE “TOP REGION” Team Tournament, sponsored by Sporting Highlights. Sunday 18th Sept 2016 at Daventry Town BC.
32 players from 4 English Regions, North, Midlands, South East & South West battled it out in a double rink format to establish “Top Region” and become the first winners of the Margaret Smith Shield, sponsored by Sporting Highlights.

It was a fantastic day and a great way to end the 2016 outdoor season. The sun shone and the players provided the large crowd of spectators with some exciting matches and a high standard of bowling.

Daventry Town were brilliant hosts and on hand all day with a constant supply of tea, coffee, cakes &  snacks  as well as a bar and cooked meal at the conclusion of matches.

Inter Region ActionPoints were awarded to each winning rink throughout the day. Competition co-ordinator Margaret Smith had the players on the edge of their seats as she announced the winning region. With the South East and South West level on points, players were anxious to hear who had the better shot difference. The South East Region gave out a huge cheer to hear that they were the champions and collected the shield and individual trophies from Margaret Smith, Steve Watson and Club Chairman Mike Robins.

Winners South East
South East Team 1: Ron Rowden, Marjorie Convey, Bob Henstridge, David Fisher (Captain)
South East Team 2: Barry Jones, Andrew Taylor, Jonathan Stokes, Gill Platt
Runners up South West
South West Team 1: Ron Homer, Mo Perry, Cate Ball, Paul Brown (Captain)
South West Team 2: Dean Robinson, Mike Birch, Mike Willavoys, Kevin Vernon
3rd Place North
North Team 1: Kevin Page, Ray Smith, Gemma Broadhead, Gary Swift (Captain)
North Team 2: Simon Wright, Bob Booth, Steve Angus, Keith Urquhart
4th Place Midlands
Midlands Team 1: Chris Gray, David Stearn, Adrian Mellows, Bob Love (Captain)
Midlands Team 2: Steve Bigg, Chris Richards, Kieran Rollings, Mac Otton

M. Monkton, DBE

See photo: Gallery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *